Category Archives: Verkehrswende

Protected Bike Lanes in Corona Times: Do it Bremen!

After Corona (2): When will Bremen get Protected Bike Lanes?

Shortly before the outbreak of the pandemic, several protected bike lanes were announced in Bremen. In the meantime, we in Germany are in the middle of the second wave of infection – with a kind of “lockdown light”. Already during the first wave, cycle lanes were quickly and easily set up on multi-lane roads in many cities around the world and also in many German cities. These cities have thus responded to the changed conditions and the changing needs of their citizens during the pandemic.

In contrast, Bremen has so far not responded to the pandemic with a single pop-up cycle path.


Berlin, Kottbusser Damm: pop-up bike lane. Photo: Olaf Dilling

Continue reading Protected Bike Lanes in Corona Times: Do it Bremen!

Platz Da! Parliament Agrees Compromise

Platz Da! (There’s Space!) Bremen has collected 6,000 signatures in the Hanseatic city and held endless debates with politicians to make more space in Bremen for all people. Platz da! has fought for state-wide parking management, for the abolition of  parking on footpaths and cycle paths, for a proper enforcement of parking bans and for a transport transition in the city. The “comprehensive” aspect of their proposals was turned down by the ruling coalition, principally by the Social Democrats, but at least parking management is to be introduced in some districts – Mitte, Östliche Vorstadt, Schwachhausen, Findorff, Walle and Neustadt. It has been a long battle, but on 17 November 2020 parliament agreed the compromise. As an admonition and reminder for the members of parliament, the activists came to the Bürgerschaft…

Einfach Einsteigen: A Public Transport Revolution?

The climate crisis and need for a transformation to a sustainable traffic and transport system demand feasible concepts. The initiative “Einfach Einsteigen” (not exactly translateable, but close to Simply Enter; Get on (board)/hop on) has developed a calculated concept for financing the expansion and operation of Bremen’s local transport system. A role model for other cities as well?

Here is some background information on “Einfach Einsteigen” (hereafter abbreviated as “we”) financing concept for local transport as well as its assessment by the Bremen Senate. If the concept is implemented, the initiative claims, local transport in Bremen can be operated without tickets as well as comprehensively expanded.(Note:  this is operating  under  German  law) Continue reading Einfach Einsteigen: A Public Transport Revolution?

We need your opinion here in Bremen

As the summer holidays hit in,  transport senator Maike Schaefer is seeking the public’s  opinion and expertise regarding two major projects:

The VEP 2025 (Verkehrsentwicklungsplan = traffic development plan)

and the remake of a main road, Friedrich-Ebert-Straße in the Neustadt.

To make your life easier, a citizens’ initiative has already developed some helpful ideas. Have a look into their brochure.

As you can see in the poster above, both projects have tight deadlines for your ideas to be submitted: The VEP participation ends at the 2nd of August, and your ideas for the Friedrich-Ebert-Straße need to be handed in by the 31st of July.

Zebra Crossing – no chance in Bremen?

 There are hardly any zebra crossings in Bremen. Why is that so? Don’t they offer pedestrians safety? Do they disturb the car traffic? Are they too expensive to produce?

Zebra crossings are – strictly speaking – a stopgap in places where car traffic dominates urban traffic. They were made in Britain, like this probably most famous zebra crossing photo in Abbey Road with the Beatles.

One of Bremen’s rare zebra crossing at the main station, Foto: Richard Grassick

The protective effect of zebra crossings is beyond doubt. As the guidelines state: “MSDS are one of several ways of protecting pedestrians when crossing the road (see VwV on §25 StVO)” (German guidelines for pedestrian crossings, (R-FGÜ 2001). The federal states were asked to introduce these guidelines and to apply them from January 1, 2002. Continue reading Zebra Crossing – no chance in Bremen?

1970s Tools For 2030 Aims

Bremen’s Traffic Plan 1948

Is your head stuck in the 1970s? Most of us like to think that we fit well with the modern world. We appreciate democracy. We support equal rights for all. We are tolerant and open to new ways. Yet when it comes to transport policy, many of us can’t get out of 1970s thinking.

This is the problem that haunts Transport Transition advocates. We want to reclaim the cities for people by reducing the use of motorised vehicles. But whenever proposals are presented that will do just this, so many of us cannot think beyond the problems of 1970s traffic management. Where will the cars go if they can’t go here? How can shops get their supplies without lorries? How can residents park their cars if not in the street? Even transport activists find it difficult to get over this way of thinking.  For as much as it is embedded in official government policy, it is no surprise that the transport sector has failed miserably to reduce its carbon emissions. Continue reading 1970s Tools For 2030 Aims

Archiv der Kategorie: Verkehrswende

Bremer Protected Bike Lanes: Geht nich gib’s nich!

Nach Corona (2): Wann bekommt Bremen geschützte Radfahrstreifen?

Kurz vor Ausbruch der Pandemie wurden in Bremen mehrere geschützte Radfahrstreifen („protected bike lanes“) angekündigt. Inzwischen sind wir in Deutschland mitten in der zweiten Welle des Infektionsgeschehens – mit einer Art „lockdown light“. Bereits während der ersten Welle wurden in vielen Städten weltweit und auch in zahlreichen deutschen Städten schnell und unkompliziert Radwege auf mehrspurigen Straßen eingerichtet. Damit haben diese Städte auf die veränderten Bedingungen und auf die veränderten Bedürfnisse ihrer Bürger während der Pandemie geantwortet.

 Dagegen hat Bremen bislang mit keinem einzigen Popup-Radweg auf die Pandemie reagiert.


Berlin, Kottbusser Damm: pop-up bike lane, Foto: Olaf Dilling

Bremer Protected Bike Lanes: Geht nich gib’s nich! weiterlesen

Platz Da! – Kompromiss Verabschiedet

Platz da! Bremen hat 6.000 Unterschriften in der Hansestadt gesammelt und endlose Debatten mit PolitikerInnen geführt, um mehr Platz in Bremen für alle Menschen zu schaffen. Platz da! hat für eine flächendeckende Parkraumbewirtschaftung gekämpft, für die Abschaffung des aufgesetzten Parkens auf Fuß- und Radwegen, für ein tatsächliches Durchsetzen von Parkverboten und für eine Verkehrswende. Das „flächendeckende“ war nicht durchsetzbar, aber immerhin soll die Parkraumbewirtschaftung in Mitte, Östliche Vorstadt, Schwachhausen, Findorff, Walle und der  Neustadt eingeführt werden. Ein hartes Stück Arbeit – leider vor allem gegen den Widerstand der SozialdemokratInnen – aber am 17. November 2020 hat die Bürgerschaft dies nun verabschiedet. Zur Ermahnung und Erinnerung für die Abgeordneten kamen die AktivistInnen zur Bürgerschaft: Platz da!

Wird Bremen bald „Einfach Einsteigen“?

Klimakrise und Verkehrswende brauchen umsetzbare Konzepte. Die Initiative “Einfach Einsteigen” hat deswegen ein durchgerechnetes Konzept zur Finanzierung des Ausbaus und des Betriebs des Bremer Nahverkehrs ausgearbeitet. Ein Vorbild auch für andere Städte? Hier findet Ihr Hintergründe zum Finanzierungskonzept von Einfach Einsteigen (EE)  für den Nahverkehr und dessen Begutachtung durch den Bremer Senat. Wenn das Konzept umgesetzt wird, so sagt die Ini (im folgenden “wir”), kann der Nahverkehr in Bremen fahrscheinfrei betrieben und umfassend ausgebaut werden. Und jetzt kommt EE  selbst  zu  Wort:

Wird Bremen bald „Einfach Einsteigen“? weiterlesen

Eure Meinung ist gefragt!!

Mitten in der Sommerpause – wir haben vielleicht alle ein bisschen mehr Zeit als normal – bietet uns die Mobilitätssenatorin Maike Schaefer zwei Möglichkeiten zum Mitreden in Bremen: Wir können uns zur Fortschreibung des Verkehrsentwicklungsplans (VEP) 2025 und zur Neugestaltung der Friedrich-Ebert-Straße in der Neustadt mit unseren Wünschen einbringen.

Aber Achtung: Beide Verfahren enden in zwei Wochen!! Friedrich-Ebert am 31.7.2020 und die VEP-Beteiligung am 2. August 2020.

Zur Friedrich-Ebert-Straße gibt es auch Ideen einer Bürgerinitiative, die Ihr hier nachlesen könnt. Macht das Leben vielleicht leichter….

Zebrastreifen – keine Chance in Bremen?

 In Bremen gibt es kaum Zebrastreifen. Warum ist das so? Bieten sie Fußgänger*innen keine Sicherheit? Stören sie den Autoverkehr? Sind sie zu teuer in der Herstellung?

Zebrastreifen mit Mittelinsel am Hauptbahnhof, Foto: Richard Grassick

Zebrastreifen sind – genau genommen – ein Notbehelf an Orten, in denen der Kfz-Verkehr das städtische Verkehrsgeschehen dominiert. Sie sind Mitte letzten Jahrhunderts in Großbritannien entstanden. Zebrastreifen – keine Chance in Bremen? weiterlesen

Werkzeuge der 1970er Jahre für 2030 Ziele

Verkehrlinienplan 1948

Sind wir in den 1970er Jahren stehengeblieben? Die meisten von uns denken gerne, dass sie modern denken und handeln. Wir schätzen die Demokratie. Wir unterstützen gleiche Rechte für alle. Wir sind tolerant und offen für neue Wege. Doch während sich sogar das Bürgerliche Gesetzbuch seit den 70ern drastisch verändert hat: Wenn es um Verkehrspolitik geht, kommen viele von uns nicht aus dem Denken der 1970er Jahre heraus.

Mir diesem Problem sind die BefürworterInnen der Verkehrswende jeden Tag konfrontiert. Wir wollen die Städte für die Menschen zurückerobern, indem wir die Nutzung von privaten Kfz reduzieren. Aber wann immer Vorschläge unterbreitet werden, die genau dies bewirken sollen, können viele von uns nicht über den Tellerrand der 1970er Jahre hinausdenken. Wir fragen uns sofort: Wo werden die Autos fahren, wenn sie hier nicht fahren können? Wie können Geschäfte ihre Lieferungen ohne große Lastwagen bekommen? Wie können AnwohnerInnen ihre Autos parken, wenn sie keinen Platz auf der Straße finden? Selbst VerkehrsaktivistInnen tun sich schwer, diese Denkweise zu überwinden. Und wenn Politik und Verwaltung auch nicht aus dieser Denke herauskommen, ist es keine Überraschung, dass der Verkehrssektor bei der Reduzierung seiner Kohlenstoffemissionen kläglich versagt. Werkzeuge der 1970er Jahre für 2030 Ziele weiterlesen