Category Archives: Sustainable transport

We need your opinion here in Bremen

As the summer holidays hit in,  transport senator Maike Schaefer is seeking the public’s  opinion and expertise regarding two major projects:

The VEP 2025 (Verkehrsentwicklungsplan = traffic development plan)

and the remake of a main road, Friedrich-Ebert-Straße in the Neustadt.

To make your life easier, a citizens’ initiative has already developed some helpful ideas. Have a look into their brochure.

As you can see in the poster above, both projects have tight deadlines for your ideas to be submitted: The VEP participation ends at the 2nd of August, and your ideas for the Friedrich-Ebert-Straße need to be handed in by the 31st of July.

1970s Tools For 2030 Aims

Bremen’s Traffic Plan 1948

Is your head stuck in the 1970s? Most of us like to think that we fit well with the modern world. We appreciate democracy. We support equal rights for all. We are tolerant and open to new ways. Yet when it comes to transport policy, many of us can’t get out of 1970s thinking.

This is the problem that haunts Transport Transition advocates. We want to reclaim the cities for people by reducing the use of motorised vehicles. But whenever proposals are presented that will do just this, so many of us cannot think beyond the problems of 1970s traffic management. Where will the cars go if they can’t go here? How can shops get their supplies without lorries? How can residents park their cars if not in the street? Even transport activists find it difficult to get over this way of thinking.  For as much as it is embedded in official government policy, it is no surprise that the transport sector has failed miserably to reduce its carbon emissions. Continue reading 1970s Tools For 2030 Aims

“Geht-Doch-Manifesto” – Pro pedestrian traffic in Bremen

Manifesto pro pedestrians:

(The following is taken from the original text)

Lots of dosh for car traffic – hardly anything for foot and bicycle

According to a study by the University of Kassel, car traffic in Bremen receives a subsidy of 156 euros per inhabitant per year, public transport 115 euros, cycling 9.3 euros and walking 16 euros.


Pavements in Bremen, does it have to be like that?

Although Bremen does somewhat better than other municipalities, it must be said that car traffic is heavily subsidised. Continue reading “Geht-Doch-Manifesto” – Pro pedestrian traffic in Bremen

Conference on Transport and Environment in Germany

A Conference on Transport and Environment takes place in Germany every other year.  This year 450 people came to the city of Darmstadt to discuss new ideas for sustainable transport for our cities. Please find the link to the presentations and working group papers here.


Ticket for BUVKO 2019

It was impressive how many young people attended. “Fridays For Future” seems to have an impact. Continue reading Conference on Transport and Environment in Germany

Archiv der Kategorie: Sustainable transport

Werkzeuge der 1970er Jahre für 2030 Ziele

Verkehrlinienplan 1948

Sind wir in den 1970er Jahren stehengeblieben? Die meisten von uns denken gerne, dass sie modern denken und handeln. Wir schätzen die Demokratie. Wir unterstützen gleiche Rechte für alle. Wir sind tolerant und offen für neue Wege. Doch während sich sogar das Bürgerliche Gesetzbuch seit den 70ern drastisch verändert hat: Wenn es um Verkehrspolitik geht, kommen viele von uns nicht aus dem Denken der 1970er Jahre heraus.

Mir diesem Problem sind die BefürworterInnen der Verkehrswende jeden Tag konfrontiert. Wir wollen die Städte für die Menschen zurückerobern, indem wir die Nutzung von privaten Kfz reduzieren. Aber wann immer Vorschläge unterbreitet werden, die genau dies bewirken sollen, können viele von uns nicht über den Tellerrand der 1970er Jahre hinausdenken. Wir fragen uns sofort: Wo werden die Autos fahren, wenn sie hier nicht fahren können? Wie können Geschäfte ihre Lieferungen ohne große Lastwagen bekommen? Wie können AnwohnerInnen ihre Autos parken, wenn sie keinen Platz auf der Straße finden? Selbst VerkehrsaktivistInnen tun sich schwer, diese Denkweise zu überwinden. Und wenn Politik und Verwaltung auch nicht aus dieser Denke herauskommen, ist es keine Überraschung, dass der Verkehrssektor bei der Reduzierung seiner Kohlenstoffemissionen kläglich versagt. Werkzeuge der 1970er Jahre für 2030 Ziele weiterlesen

Geht-doch-Manifest – Für den Fußverkehr!

Manifest für die Förderung des Fußverkehrs in Bremen

(Die Erklärung hier im Wortlaut)

Massive Zuschüsse für Autoverkehr, fast nichts für Fuß und Rad

Laut einer Studie der Universität Kassel erhält der Autoverkehr in Bremen pro Einwohner und Jahr einen Zuschuss von 156 Euro, der ÖPNV 115 Euro, der Radverkehr 9,3 Euro und der Fußverkehr 16 Euro.


Fußverkehr in Bremen – muss das so sein?

Obwohl Bremen etwas besser abschneidet als andere Kommunen, muss von einer starken Subventionierung des Autoverkehrs gesprochen werden. Geht-doch-Manifest – Für den Fußverkehr! weiterlesen

BUVKO 2019 Kurzbericht

450 Teilnehmer*innen kamen im März zur Bundesverkehrskonferenz 2019 in  Darmstadt Auffällig war die hohe Beteiligung vieler jüngerer Teilnehmer*innen. Möglicherweise ist dies bereits eine Folge der hohen Aufmerksamkeit, die die Fridays for Future-Bewegung erfährt .

Das Motto der Konferenz „Mensch und Stadt in Bewegung“ war während der drei Konferenztage unter städtebaulichen, verkehrlichen, sozialpolitischen und ökologischen Gesichtspunkten bearbeitet worden; hier der Link zu den Konferenzbeiträgen und AG- Ergebnissen. 

BUVKO 2019 Kurzbericht weiterlesen