Accessibility (Part 3): Participation in Traffic

Introduction

The city of Bremen is facing a major challenge. It is obliged to design traffic space in an inclusive way, enabling equal participation of all road users and modes of transport. This follows from the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (UNCRPD), which has been incorporated into federal and Bremen laws (see part 1).

The concern for mobility for all has been neglected over the last hundred years since mass motorisation after the First World War until the 21st century. For a long time, the measure of all things in transport and urban planning was the automobile, not the human being with all his or her physical and mental possibilities.

The concept of accessibility and equal participation with different means of transport is also fundamental for an ecological transport transition. They provide important arguments for transport and urban planning that opens up the exclusive focus from motorised individual transport to other, more diverse forms of mobility. The requirements for accessibility show that valuable public space must be used more sparingly. Simple technical solutions are not enough. Simply changing the type of drive in motorised individual transport does not solve the increasing shortage of space in inner cities and the problem of blocked cycle paths and footpaths. A people-oriented change in transport for liveable cities with a better quality of life needs better, more flexible and space-saving alternatives to the automobile.

On the other hand, goals such as climate protection and the avoidance of noise and exhaust fumes in cities sometimes conflict with accessibility and participation. Some people with mobility impairments depend on their own car for their mobility. However, it is precisely these people who could benefit from the mobility transition if it were possible to reduce the overall number and size of motor vehicles and thus create space for more special parking spaces and privileged access for people with mobility impairments.

The two articles already published (Parts 1 and 2) were dedicated to one of the most pressing problems of accessibility in Bremen: pavements blocked by motor vehicles, especially in residential areas.  The legal situation was explained with reference to two aspects:

* Establishment of non-accessible parking spaces in street planning (see part 1); 

* lack of enforcement of non-designated parking on pavements by parking enforcement (see Part 2). 

The following article will focus on accessibility and equal participation in all vehicular traffic, i.e. bicycle traffic, motor vehicle traffic and public transport.

Cycling and special bikes

Cycling is not often associated with people who have a disability. However, there are now a variety of special cycles on the market that are precisely adapted to these needs. For example, there are the so-called hand bikes, which are powered by hand cranks.

The possibilities of special cycles are now extended by the option of electromobile support. So what is the legal definition of a special cycle?

What is considered a cycle under German road traffic law is defined in § 63a StVZO. This also includes, for example, the hand bikes mentioned above. Muscle-powered vehicles with more than two wheels are also considered cycles under road traffic law. There are now also various models of tandems and rickshaws for people with disabilities. These are often tricycles, so they are wider than conventional bicycles.

Since the introduction of the so-called pedelecs, there are also cycles (or hand-cycles) with an electric motor or electric pedal assistance. There are technical requirements for this, e.g. the pedal assistance may only be effective up to a speed of 25 km/h and push assistance, i.e. even without additional pedalling, is permitted up to 6 km/h.

Cycles are distinguished from wheelchair types, which typically travel more slowly, i.e. at walking speed. So-called push and push-rim wheelchairs are classified as “special means of transport” (similar to prams or pedal scooters) in accordance with § 24 para. 1 StVO, so that they are included with pedestrian traffic and treated according to its rules. It is somewhat more complicated with e-wheelchairs: According to § 16 para. 2 StVZO, wheelchairs with auxiliary drive, which can drive up to 6 km/h due to their construction, are not vehicles. Therefore, it also applies to them that they should drive on the pavements.

However, there are also possibilities to flexibly extend push rim wheelchairs with a pre-tension hand bike or e-pretension hand bike to a cycle in the sense of the StVO. This means that cycle paths must also be made usable for wheelchair users.

Requirements for barrier-free cycle paths

In general, the increase in hand bikes and other special cycles, including cargo bikes, makes it necessary to make cycle paths in Bremen barrier-free. This results from the Bremen Guideline on the Barrier-Free Design of Structural Transport Facilities of 2020 (section 5.7).

Currently, according to the administrative regulations of the StVO, constructed cycle paths should have a width of at least 1.50 m and preferably 2.00 m (VwV-StVO to § 2, marginal no. 18).  For cycle lanes, the regular width is even less, at 1.85 m (marginal no. 19). Similarly, the Recommendation for Cycling Facilities (ERA) of the Road and Traffic Research Association refers to the Bremen Guideline on Accessibility in Traffic. The recommendation stipulates a minimum width of 1.60 m for low traffic volumes and an optimal width of at least 2.00 m (ERA 2021, Table 5, p. 16). In the case of a bi-directional cycle track existing only on one side of the road, a minimum width of 2.50 m and a standard width of 3.00 m is envisaged.

In order to be able to overtake safely on cycle paths or to pass each other safely on two-way cycle paths, twice the width of the special bikes available on the market plus a safety distance should be estimated. Typically, hand bikes are between 80 and 90 cm wide. However, according to § 32 para. 9 no. 1 StVZO, single-track bicycles may be up to 1.00 m wide in corresponding application, multi-track special cycles (i.e. three or four-wheeled cycles, e.g. rickshaws) even 2.00 m wide.

Accessibility follows, as already presented in another article, as a legal requirement from the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. In Bremen, it was transposed into state law in § 8 para. 5 of the Bremen Equal Opportunities for Persons with Disabilities Act (BremBGG) and in § 10 para. 1 sentence 2, 2nd half sentence of the Bremen State Roads Act (BremLStrG) for the areas of construction and transport. Public roads, squares and paths must therefore be designed to be barrier-free in accordance with the relevant legal provisions.

Therefore, care must be taken to plan cycle paths wider than before. Only then can the increased number of special bikes with electric assistance as well as cargo bikes and electric scooters be taken into account. The question is, however, which new width should be used as a basis for cycle paths.

According to the Berlin Mobility Act, cycle paths should have a sufficient width for the safe overtaking of cycles. Traffic planners recommend 1.00 m as the traffic space for individual cyclists, which is made up of the vehicle width of 60 cm and 20 cm on each side for swaying movements for balancing. In addition, there is a safety space of 25 cm each to other cyclists and to the carriageway or pavement (Schimmelpfennig / Hoffmeister /Schulte, VRR 2021, 215-219, 216). Therefore, according to a calculation by the ADFC Berlin, a bicycle lane for safe overtaking would have to be 2.50 m wide. This is significantly wider than the ERA dimensions used so far in Bremen.

This calculation should then also be sufficient for most special cycles, which are often designed as tricycles or quad cycles and therefore do not need any room to swing out of balance. However, they are often much wider overall than conventional bicycles and need similar safety margins when overtaking.

The more generous dimensions would have to be taken into account accordingly in the construction of new cycling infrastructure as a whole, i.e. also for shared pavements and cycle paths, cycle lanes and protective lanes. Even when renovating the existing infrastructure, simple cycle lanes should no longer be planned with the currently valid minimum width of 1.50 m, but with at least 2.50 m – with corresponding surcharges for two-directional cycle lanes or busy routes. This increased space requirement for cycling must not be at the expense of the pedestrian infrastructure, which is already far too limited in Bremen. On the contrary, the areas that have so far been generously dimensioned for stationary traffic or motor vehicle lanes must be converted.

Bollards and barriers

Special attention should be paid to bollards or barriers, so-called circulation barriers, which are installed in pedestrian and cycling infrastructure. On the one hand, to prevent pedestrians and cyclists from entering or passing too quickly on lanes that run at right angles to the cycle track. Secondly, more recently as so-called modal filters, which are used in traffic calming measures to block through traffic from motor vehicles.

In many cases, these bollards themselves become obstacles to accessibility. Therefore, where they are absolutely necessary, care should be taken that the bollards are not set too narrowly, so that at least 1.00 to 1.50 m of space is left for wheelchairs and hand bikes to pass through.

Participation in motor vehicle traffic

A change in transport towards sustainable mobility must also take into account the rights of mobility-impaired drivers to participate. For participation in motor vehicle traffic, it is crucial that sufficient special parking spaces are provided. In addition, access roads to pedestrian zones should be kept free to allow access for people with disabilities. This is because people with limited mobility should not have to travel long and arduous distances from their vehicle to their destination. There are already relatively well-established regulations for this, such as the blue EU parking permit. Therefore, the often heard argument that car-free city centres are not possible because of the mobility needs of disabled people is in many cases a pretext. On the contrary, it is rather the lack of availability of parking spaces close to home or to the destination that causes problems for mobility-impaired drivers.

People with an exceptional walking disability (aG), but also other disabilities such as amelia, phocomelia or blindness, can apply for the blue EU parking permit, from the Bremen Office for Roads and Traffic (ASV) in accordance with § 46 Para. 1 No. 11 StVO. The prerequisite for the recognition of an exceptional walking disability is that they can only move outside their motor vehicle with the help of others or only with great effort.

Among other things, this card entitles the holder to:

  • use special parking spaces marked with a wheelchair user symbol, 
  • to park for up to three hours in restricted no-parking zones (so-called “Parkverbot”, VZ 286) or in residents’ parking zones, 
  • to exceed permitted parking times, 
  • to use pedestrian zones with exceptions for loading and unloading, 
  • to park in traffic-calmed zones outside the designated parking areas. 

In addition, holders of the card can also apply to have a specially marked personal parking space (§ 45 StVO) reserved in the immediate vicinity of the entitled person’s home or place of work in the public traffic area. Overall, care should be taken to provide sufficient special parking spaces.

It can be seen from these options that the reduction and restriction of legal parking possibilities for the vehicles of non-disabled people offers many more possibilities for people with disabilities. Overall, it should become easier for them to find nearby parking facilities. It is therefore incorrect to say that restrictions on motor vehicle traffic are in principle detrimental to people with disabilities.

Barrier-free environmental transport

Holders of a disabled person’s card with a degree of disability of 50% or more (severely disabled persons) can use local public transport free of charge in accordance with § 228 SGB IX upon presentation of their card. However, this is only a real help if there are no barriers to the potential use.

It is true that from 01.01.2022 special legal requirements will apply to the accessibility of public transport everywhere in Germany. However, this does not de facto eliminate all problems. There are still stops in Bremen and the surrounding area that are not barrier-free. In addition, it makes sense to look at the environmental network as a whole. After all, mobility with public transport also includes the stops and the routes to them and to the respective destinations. Public transport therefore always includes access points, as mobility must be thought of comprehensively from door to door. There is still a lot to be done here in Bremen, especially with regard to footpaths and bus stops.

As long as accessibility is not guaranteed, at least information about barrier-free mobility should be made accessible as clearly and comprehensively as possible.

Legal obligation for barrier-free local transport planning

On 01.01.2022, all local public transport in Germany is to be made barrier-free. This ranges from overcoming the steep station stairs with a lift, widening a passageway that is too narrow, acoustic and visual stop announcements, to marking a door opening mechanism that is clearly visible but difficult to “grasp” with Braille. The fact that complete accessibility is the goal has even been legally anchored in the Passenger Transportation Act (PBefG) since 2013. Section 8 (3) sentence 3 PBefG states:

The local transport plan must take into account the concerns of people with reduced mobility or sensory impairments with the aim of achieving complete accessibility for the use of local public transport by 1 January 2022.

The fact that this target is formulated in a somewhat tortuous manner is not untypical for corresponding participation or benefit claims. A close reading shows that the obligation formulated in the sentence first of all affects the creators of the local transport plan. In the following sentences there are also some restrictions. For example, according to § 8 para. 3 sentence 4 PBefG, it is possible to deviate from the deadline. However, exceptions must be specifically named and justified in the local transport plan.

In addition, the planning process requires that existing entrepreneurs be involved at an early stage. Disability representatives or advisory boards, associations of passengers with reduced mobility or sensory impairments and passenger associations must also be consulted. The respective interests must be taken into account in the planning process in an appropriate and non-discriminatory manner.

Through this pressure to justify and the strong inclusion of voices in favour of accessibility, considerable progress has been made in recent years. Admittedly, there are still stops and stations where accessibility is not guaranteed, in Bremen for example the stations Neustadt, Sebaldsbrück and Hemelingen, and in the surrounding area the stations Heidkrug and Dreye. Local (BSAG) buses are also a problem.

“Route:Able” as a model – information on accessibility in Bremen

As long as public transport and the rest of the transport infrastructure is not yet completely barrier-free, there should be more offers to find out about routes that can already be used without problems. Although the VBN (Bremen’s public transport network) already provides information on accessibility (see https://www.vbn.de/mobilitaet/barrierefreiheit), this is not the case. Up to now, users of public transport or roads and paths have had to search for information in different places without being able to use a comprehensive route planner, as is currently being developed for Baden-Württemberg (Route:Able).

Conclusion

Overall, accessibility in transport is an important cross-cutting issue, but its importance is only gradually being recognised in Bremen’s transport policy and administration. The greatest deficits in Bremen are probably in the area of pedestrian traffic. This is because many older people and people with disabilities are dependent on walking aids or wheelchairs. Neither the narrow and mostly illegally parked footpaths nor the many roadways in Bremen with roughly paved or damaged road surfaces meet the requirements for barrier-free access.  However, the same is true in the area of cycling infrastructure, which is increasingly used for special cycles with or without an e-assist motor. Here, too, many existing paths are far too narrow and often additionally damaged. 

As far as participation in motor vehicle traffic is concerned, it is only superficially opposed to the goals of a transport transition. Rather, a reduction and limitation of legal car parking spaces would improve the possibilities for drivers with a blue EU parking permit. The prerequisite is that enough special parking spaces are available. As far as public transport is concerned, it is foreseeable that the goal of complete accessibility set for 01.01.2022 cannot be met. This makes it all the more important to provide Bremen with a route planner that takes into account the different needs of all road users.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Barrierefreiheit (Teil 3): Teilhabe am Fahrzeugverkehr

Einleitung

Die Stadt Bremen steht vor einer großen Herausforderung. Sie muss öffentliche Verkehrsräume inklusiv gestalten und dabei eine gleichberechtigte Teilhabe aller Verkehrsteilnehmer und Verkehrsarten ermöglichen. Dies folgt aus der UN-Konvention über die Rechte Behinderter (UN-BRK), die sich in Gesetzen des Bundes und Bremens niedergeschlagen hat (siehe Teil 1). Das Anliegen einer Mobilität für Alle wurde in den letzten hundert Jahren seit der Massenmotorisierung nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg bis ins 21. Jahrhundert  vernachlässigt. Denn das Maß aller Dinge in der Verkehrs- und Stadtplanung war lange Zeit das Automobil, nicht der Mensch mit allen seinen physischen und mentalen Möglichkeiten.

Barrierefreiheit und gleichberechtigte Teilhabe mit unterschiedlichen Verkehrsmitteln unterstützen dabei grundsätzlich die auch aus ökologischen Gründen nötige Verkehrswende. Denn sie sind wichtige Argumente für eine Verkehrs- und Stadtplanung, die den ausschließlichen Fokus vom motorisierten Individualverkehr auf andere, diversere Formen der Mobilität öffnet. Die Anforderungen an Barrierefreiheit zeigen, dass sparsamer mit dem wertvollen öffentlichen Raum umgegangen werden muss. Dafür reichen einfache technische Lösungen nicht. Denn beim motorisierten Individualverkehr lediglich die Antriebsart auszutauschen, löst die zunehmende Platzknappheit in den Innenstädten und das Problem zugestellter Rad- und Gehwege nicht. Eine menschengerechte Verkehrswende für lebenswerte Städte mit mehr Aufenthaltsqualität braucht mehr Platz und bessere, insbesondere flexiblere und platzsparendere Alternativen zum Automobil.

Andererseits stehen Ziele wie Klimaschutz und die Vermeidung von Lärm und Abgasen in den Städten mitunter auch im Konflikt mit Barrierefreiheit und Teilhabe: Denn manche Menschen mit Mobilitätseinschränkungen sind für ihre Mobilität auf ein eigenes Auto angewiesen. Gerade  sie könnten aber von der Mobilitätswende profitieren, wenn es gelingt, insgesamt die Zahl und Größe der Kfz zu reduzieren und dadurch Raum für weitere Sonderparkplätze und für mobilitätseingeschänkte Menschen privilegierte Zufahrtsmöglichkeiten zu schaffen.

Die bereits erschienenen zwei Beiträge (Teil 1 und 2) waren einem der drängendsten Probleme der Barrierefreiheit in Bremen gewidmet: Den von Kraftfahrzeugen zugeparkten Gehwegen vor allem in den Wohnvierteln.  Dabei wurde die Rechtslage mit Bezug auf zwei Aspekte erläutert:

  • Einrichtung nicht barrierefreier Parkplätze bei der Straßenplanung (siehe Teil 1); 
  • mangelnde Verfolgung des nicht eigens angeordneten Parkens auf Gehwegen durch die Parkraumüberwachung (siehe Teil 2). 

Im folgenden Beitrag soll es um Barrierefreiheit und gleichberechtigte Teilhabe am Fahrzeugverkehr gehen, also Fahrradverkehr, Kfz-Verkehr und ÖPNV.

Radverkehr und Spezialfahrräder

Fahrradverkehr wird oft nicht mit Personen in Verbindung gebracht, die eine Behinderung haben. Dabei gibt es inzwischen auf dem Markt eine Vielfalt von Spezialfahrrädern, die genau auf diese Bedürfnisse abgestimmt sind. Beispielsweise gibt es die sogenannten Handbikes, die mit Handkurbeln angetrieben werden. 

Erweitert werden die Möglichkeiten von Spezialfahrrädern inzwischen noch durch die Möglichkeit der elektromobilen Unterstützung.

Wie wird ein Spezialfahrrad rechtlich definiert?

Was nach dem deutschen Straßenverkehrsrecht als Fahrrad gilt, ergibt sich aus  § 63a StVZO. Darunter fallen auch beispielsweise die genannten Handbikes. Mit Muskelkraft betriebene Fahrzeuge mit mehr als zwei Rädern gelten dabei auch als Fahrräder im Sinne des Straßenverkehrsrechts. Ebenso gibt es inzwischen verschiedene Modelle von Tandems und Rikschas für Menschen mit Behinderungen. Oft handelt es sich dabei um Dreiräder, so dass sie breiter sind als herkömmliche Fahrräder.

Seit Einführung der sogenannten Pedelecs gibt es auch Fahrräder (oder entsprechend Handfahrräder) mit Elektrohilfsmotor bzw. elektrischer Tretunterstützung. Dafür gibt es technische Anforderungen u.a. darf die Tretunterstützung nur bis zu einer Geschwindigkeit von 25 km/h wirksam sein bzw. ist eine Anschiebehilfe, also auch ohne zusätzliches Treten, bis 6 km/h zulässig.

Abgegrenzt wird das Fahrrad von Rollstuhltypen, die typischerweise langsamer, also eher mit Schrittgeschwindigkeit unterwegs sind. Sogenannte Schiebe- und Greifreifenrollstühle werden gemäß § 24 Abs. 1 StVO als “besondere Fortbewegungsmittel” (ähnlich Kinderwagen oder Tretrollern) eingestuft, so dass sie dem Fußgängerverkehr zugeschlagen werden und nach dessen Regeln behandelt werden. Etwas komplizierter ist es mit E-Rollstühlen: Nach § 16 Abs. 2 StVZO sind Rollstühle mit Hilfsantrieb, die baubedingt bis zu 6 km/h fahren können, keine Fahrzeuge. Für sie gilt daher ebenfalls, dass sie auf den Gehwegen fahren sollen.

Allerdings gibt es auch Möglichkeiten, Greifreifenrollstühle mit einem Vorspann-Handbike oder E-Vorspann-Handbike flexibel zu einem Fahrrad im Sinne der StVO zu erweitern. Das heißt, dass Fahrradwege auch für Rollstuhlfahrer:innen benutzbar gemacht werden müssen.

Anforderungen an barrierefreie Radwege

Allgemein macht die Zunahme der Handbikes und sonstiger Spezialfahrräder, darunter auch Lastenfahrrädern, es erforderlich, auch Fahrradwege in Bremen barrierefrei auszugestalten. Dies ergibt sich aus der Bremischen Richtlinie zur barrierefreien Gestaltung baulicher Verkehrsanlagen von 2020 (Abschnitt 5.7).

Aktuell sollen baulich angelegte Radwege laut Verwaltungsvorschrift zur StVO mindestens 1,50 m und möglichst 2,00 m Breite haben (VwV-StVO zu § 2, Rn. 18).  Bei Radfahrstreifen ist mit 1,85 m sogar noch weniger an regulärer Breite vorgesehen (Rn. 19). Ähnlich die Empfehlung für Radverkehrsanlagen (ERA) der Forschungsgesellschaft für Straßen- und Verkehrswesen auf die die Bremische Richtlinie zur Barrierefreiheit im Verkehr verweist. Die Empfehlung sieht eine Mindestbreite bei geringem Verkehrsaufkommen von 1,60 m und eine optimale Breite von mindestens 2,00 m vor (ERA 2021, Tabelle 5, S. 16). Bei einem nur auf einer Seite der Straße vorhandenem Zweirichtungsradweg ist eine Mindestbreite von 2,50 m und eine Regelbreite von 3,00 m vorgesehen.

Um auf Fahrradwegen sicher überholen zu können oder auf beidseitig nutzbaren Fahrradwegen sicher aneinander vorbeizukommen, sollte die doppelte Breite der marktüblichen Spezialfahrräder zuzüglich Sicherheitsabstand veranschlagt werden. Typischerweise sind Handbikes zwischen 80 und 90 cm breit. Allerdings dürfen einspurige Räder nach § 32 Abs. 9 Nr. 1 StVZO in entsprechender Anwendung bis 1,00 m breit sein, mehrspurige Spezialräder (also drei oder vierrädrige Fahrräder, z.B. Rikschas) sogar 2,00 m.

Die Barrierefreiheit folgt, wie bereits in einem anderen Beitrag dargestellt, als rechtliches Gebot aus der UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention. In Bremen wurde es in § 8 Abs. 5 Bremer Behindertengleichstellungsgesetz (BremBGG) und in § 10 Abs. 1 Satz 2, 2. Halbsatz des Bremischen Landesstraßengesetzes (BremLStrG) für die Bereiche Bau und Verkehr ins Landesrecht umgesetzt. Öffentliche Straßen, Plätze und Wege sind daher nach Maßgabe der einschlägigen Rechtsvorschriften barrierefrei zu gestalten.

Daher ist darauf zu achten, Fahrradwege breiter als bisher zu planen. Nur dann kann dem erhöhten Aufkommen von Spezialrädern mit Elektrounterstützung sowie Lastenrädern und Elektrorollern Rechnung getragen werden. Die Frage ist allerdings, welche neue Breite Fahrradwegen zugrunde zu legen wäre.

Nach dem Berliner Mobilitätsgesetz sollen Radwege eine ausreichende Breite für das sichere Überholen von Fahrrädern haben. Von Verkehrsplanern wird 1,00 m als Verkehrsraum für einzelne Radfahrer empfohlen, der sich aus der Fahrzeugbreite von 60 cm und seitlich jeweils 20 cm für Pendelbewegungen zum Ausbalancieren zusammensetzt. Hinzu kommt noch ein Sicherheitsraum von jeweils 25 cm zu anderen Fahrradfahrern und zu Fahrbahn bzw. Gehweg (Schimmelpfennig / Hoffmeister /Schulte, VRR 2021, 215-219, 216). Daher müsste ein Fahrradweg zum sicheren Überholen nach einer daran anknüpfenden Berechnung des ADFC Berlin an sich insgesamt 2,50 m Breite haben. Dies ist deutlich breiter, als die bislang in Bremen zugrundegelegten Maße der ERA.

Diese Berechnung dürfte dann auch für die meisten Spezialfahrräder ausreichen, die zwar oft als Drei- oder Vierräder konstruiert sind und daher keinen Spielraum für das Auspendeln des Gleichgewichts brauchen. Sie sind jedoch insgesamt zwar oft viel breiter als herkömmliche Fahrräder und brauchen ähnliche Sicherheitsabstände bei Überholvorgängen.

Die großzügigeren Maße müsste entsprechend auch beim Neubau der Radverkehrsinfrastruktur insgesamt, also auch bei gemeinsamen Geh- und Radwegen, Radfahrstreifen und Schutzstreifen, berücksichtigt werden. Auch bei der Sanierung des Bestands sollten einfache Fahrradwege nicht mehr mit der bisher noch gültigen Mindestbreite von 1,50 m, sondern mit mindestens 2,50 m – eingeplant werden mit entsprechenden Zuschlägen bei Zweirichtungsradwegen oder viel befahrenen Strecken. Dieser erhöhte Platzbedarf des Radverkehrs darf nicht zu Lasten der ohnehin in Bremen viel zu knapp bemessenen Fußverkehrsinfrastruktur gehen. Vielmehr müssen dazu die bisher meist großzügig bemessenen Flächen für den ruhenden Verkehr oder Kfz-Fahrstreifen umgenutzt werden.

Insbesondere Poller und Umlaufschranken

Besondere Aufmerksamkeit verdienen Poller oder Barrieren, sogenannte Umlaufschranken, die in Fuß- und Radverkehrsinfrastruktur eingebaut werden. Zum einen, um Fußgänger und Fahrradfahrer daran zu hindern, zu schnell auf quer zum Radweg verlaufende Fahrbahnen zu betreten bzw. zu befahren. Zum anderen neuerdings als sogenannte modale Filter, die bei Verkehrsberuhigungsmaßnahmen im Rahmen der Verkehrswende dazu dienen, den Durchgangsverkehr von Kfz zu blockieren.

Diese Poller werden in vielen Fällen selbst wieder zu Hindernissen für Barrierefreiheit. Daher ist, da wo sie zwingend nötig sind, darauf zu achten, dass die Poller nicht zu eng gesetzt werden, so dass mindestens 1,00 bis 1,50 m Platz zur Durchfahrt von Rollstühlen und Handbikes bleiben.

Teilhabe am Kraftfahrzeugverkehr

Eine Verkehrswende hin zu nachhaltiger Mobilität muss auch Teilhaberechte von mobilitätseingeschränkten Autofahrer:innen berücksichtigen. Für die Teilhabe am Kraftfahrzeugverkehr ist es entscheidend, dass ausreichend Sonderparkplätze bereitgestellt werden. Außerdem sollten Zufahrten zu Fußgängerzonen freigehalten werden, um den Zugang für Menschen mit Behinderung zu ermöglichen. Denn mobilitätseingeschränkte Menschen sollten von ihrem Fahrzeug keine weiten und beschwerlichen Wege bis zu ihrem Ziel zurücklegen müssen. Dafür gibt es bereits relativ gut etablierte Regelungen, etwa den blauen EU-Parkausweis. Daher ist das oft zu hörende Argument, dass sich autofreie Innenstädte wegen der Mobilitätsbedürfnisse von Behinderten nicht möglich seien, in vielen Fällen vorgeschoben. Im Gegenteil ist es eher die mangelnde Verfügbarkeit von wohnort- oder zielnahen Parkplätzen, die mobilitätseingeschränkten Autofahrer:innen zu schaffen macht.

Menschen mit einer außergewöhnlichen Gehbehinderung (aG), aber auch anderen Behinderungen wie Amelie, Phokomelie oder Blindheit können gemäß § 46 Abs. 1 Nr. 11 StVO beim Bremer Amt für Straßen und Verkehr (ASV) eine Ausnahmegenehmigung, den sogenannten blauen EU-Parkausweis beantragen. Voraussetzung für die Anerkennung einer außergewöhnlichen Gehbehinderung ist, dass sie sich nur mit fremder Hilfe oder nur mit großer Anstrengung außerhalb ihres Kraftfahrzeugs bewegen können.

Dieser Ausweis berechtigt unter anderem dazu:

  • mit einem Rollstuhlfahrersymbol besonders gekennzeichneten Sonderparkplätzen zu nutzen, 
  • bis zu drei Stunden im eingeschränkten Halteverbot (sog. “Parkverbot”, VZ 286) oder in Bewohnerparkzonen zu parken, 
  • zulässige Parkzeiten zu überschreiten, 
  • Fußgängerzonen mit Ausnahmen für Be- und Entladen zu nutzen, 
  • in verkehrsberuhigten Zonen außerhalb der ausgewiesenen Parkflächen zu parken. 

Zudem können Inhaber des Ausweises auf Antrag auch einen besonders gekennzeichneten personenbezogenen Stellplatz (§ 45 StVO) in unmittelbarer Nähe der Wohnung oder der Arbeitsstätte des Berechtigten im öffentlichen Verkehrsraum reservieren lassen. Insgesamt sollte darauf geachtet werden, ausreichend Sonderparkplätze zur Verfügung zu stellen.

An diesen Möglichkeiten zeigt sich, dass die Reduzierung und Einschränkung der legalen Parkmöglichkeiten für die Fahrzeuge nichtbehinderter Menschen für Menschen mit Behinderungen sehr viel mehr Möglichkeiten bietet. Insgesamt dürfte es für sie leichter werden, nahe gelegene Parkmöglichkeiten zu finden. Es ist daher unzutreffend, dass Beschränkungen des Kfz-Verkehrs prinzipiell zu Lasten von Menschen mit Behinderungen gehen.

Barrierefreier Umweltverbund

Inhaber:innen eines Behindertenausweises mit einem Grad der Behinderung von 50% oder mehr (Schwerbehinderte), können gemäß § 228 SGB IX gegen Vorlage ihres Ausweises den öffentlichen Nahverkehr unentgeltlich nutzen. Eine richtige Hilfe ist das aber nur, wenn der potentiellen Nutzung nicht Barrieren entgegenstehen.

Zwar gelten ab 01.01.2022 für die Barrierefreiheit des ÖPNV überall in Deutschland besondere gesetzliche Anforderungen. Dadurch sind de facto jedoch nicht alle Probleme bereinigt. So gibt es in Bremen und Umgebung weiterhin Haltestellen, die nicht barrierefrei zugänglich sind. Zudem ist es sinnvoll, den Umweltverbund insgesamt in den Blick zu nehmen. Denn zur Mobilität mit dem ÖPNV gehören auch die Haltestellen und die Wege dorthin und zu den jeweiligen Zielen. Zum ÖPNV gehören daher immer auch die Zugänge, da Mobilität umfassend von Haustür zu Haustür gedacht werden muss. Hier ist in Bremen noch einiges zu tun, gerade bei Gehwegen und Haltestellen.

Solange die Barrierefreiheit nicht garantiert ist, sollten zumindest Informationen über barrierefreie Mobilität möglichst unkompliziert und umfassend zugänglich gemacht werden.

Gesetzliche Pflicht zur barrierfreien Nahverkehrsplanung

In wenigen Monaten, am 01.01.2022 soll der gesamte öffentliche Nahverkehr in Deutschland barrierefrei gestaltet werden. Das reicht von der Überwindung der steilen Bahnhofstreppe durch einen Aufzug, Erweiterung eines zu engen Durchgangs, akustische und visuelle Haltestellenansagen, bis zur Kennzeichnung eines gut sichtbaren, aber schlecht zu “begreifende” Türöffnungsmechanismus mit Brailleschrift. Dass vollständige Barrierefreiheit angestrebt wird,  ist seit 2013 sogar rechtlich im Personenbeförderungsgesetz (PBefG) verankert worden. In § 8 Abs. 3 Satz 3 PBefG steht die  Formulierung:

Der Nahverkehrsplan hat die Belange der in ihrer Mobilität oder sensorisch eingeschränkten Menschen mit dem Ziel zu berücksichtigen, für die Nutzung des öffentlichen Personennahverkehrs bis zum 1. Januar 2022 eine vollständige Barrierefreiheit zu erreichen.

Dass diese Zielvorgabe auf eine etwas gewundene Weise formuliert ist, ist für entsprechende Teilhabe- oder Leistungsansprüche nicht untypisch. Eine genaue Lektüre zeigt, dass die in dem Satz formulierte Pflicht zunächst einmal die Ersteller des Nahverkehrsplans trifft. In den folgenden Sätzen kommen zudem einige Einschränkungen. Zum Beispiel, dass gemäß § 8 Abs. 3 S. 4 PBefG von der Frist abgewichen werden kann. Dafür müssen aber im Nahverkehrsplan Ausnahmen konkret benannt und begründet werden.

Zudem erfordert der Planungsprozess, die vorhandenen Unternehmer frühzeitig zu beteiligen. Angehört werden müssen auch Behindertenbeauftragte oder Behindertenbeiräte, Verbände der in ihrer Mobilität oder sensorisch eingeschränkten Fahrgäste und Fahrgastverbände. Die jeweiligen Interessen sind im Planungsprozess angemessen und diskriminierungsfrei zu berücksichtigen.

Durch diesen Rechtfertigungsdruck und die starke Einbeziehung von Stimmen, die für Barrierefreiheit sprechen, ist es in den letzten Jahren zu erheblichen Fortschritten gekommen. Zwar gibt es weiterhin Haltestellen und Bahnhöfe, an denen Barrierefreiheit nicht gewährleistet ist, in Bremen etwa die Bahnhöfe Neustadt, Sebaldsbrück und Hemelingen, und im Umland die Bahnhöfe Heidkrug und Dreye. Auch bei den Bussen der BSAG

Vorbild “Route:Able” – Informationen über Barrierefreiheit in Bremen

Solange der ÖPNV und die übrige Verkehrsinfrastruktur noch nicht vollständig barrierefrei ist, sollte es mehr Angebote geben, sich über bereits problemlos nutzbare Routen zu informieren. Zwar gibt es zwar auch jetzt schon vom VBN Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit (siehe https://www.vbn.de/mobilitaet/barrierefreiheit). Bisher müssen sich Nutzer:innen des ÖPNV oder der Straßen und Wege die Informationen dafür an unterschiedlichen Stellen zusammensuchen ohne einen übergreifenden Routenplaner nutzen zu können, wie er aktuell für Baden-Württemberg entwickelt wird (Route:Able).

Fazit

Insgesamt ist Barrierefreiheit im Verkehr ein wichtiges Querschnittsthema, dessen Bedeutung in der Bremer Verkehrspolitik und -verwaltung jedoch erst nach und nach erkannt wird. Die größten Defizite gibt es in Bremen wohl im Bereich Fußverkehr. Denn viele Ältere und Menschen mit Behinderungen sind auf Gehhilfen oder Rollstühle angewiesen. Den Ansprüchen an Barrierefreiheit entsprechen weder die eng und meist widerrechtlich beparkten Gehwege, noch die viele Bremer Fahrbahnen mit grob gepflasterten oder beschädigten Straßenbelägen.  Ähnliches gilt jedoch auch im Bereich der Radverkehrsinfrastruktur, die zunehmend für Spezialfahrräder mit oder ohne E-Hilfsmotor genutzt werden. Auch hier sind im Bestand viele Wege viel zu eng und oft zusätzlich beschädigt.  

Was die Teilhabe am Kfz-Verkehr angeht, stehen ihr die Ziele der Verkehrswende nur bei oberflächlicher Betrachtung entgegen. Tatsächlich würde eine Reduzierung und Einschränkung der legalen Kfz-Parkplätze die Möglichkeiten für Autofahrer:innen mit blauem EU-Parkausweis eher verbessern. Voraussetzung ist, dass genug entsprechende Sonderparkplätze vorgehalten werden. Was den ÖPNV betrifft, ist abzusehen, dass das für den 01.01.2022 gesetzte Ziel einer vollständigen Barrierefreiheit nicht eingehalten werden kann. Um so wichtiger wäre es, für Bremen einen Routenplaner bereitzustellen, der auf die unterschiedlichen Bedürfnisse aller Verkehrsteilnehmer:innen Rücksicht nimmt.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.