Parking Space Management / Fee-Based Parking – A Definition of Terms

In the objectives of the recently elected Bremen state government, regulation and limitation of parking are at the forefront. Strategic measures from the Bremen Transport Development Plan 2025 have now finally been included in the operative catalogue of objectives of our state government.

In addition, civil society is increasingly calling for a decisive change in transport policy. Among other things, it no longer accepts the unsustainable situation in many urban neighbourhoods caused by illegally parked cars and the climate-damaging “successes” of an automobile industry advertising the purchase of large cars against all common well-being:

– be it that on a local level the Bremer Verkehrswende-Bündnis has adopted the demands for comprehensive fee-based parking as an essential lever for the societal move “away from the car – towards a sustainable transport and a city worth living in”,
– be it that the demands for a stepwise reduction in the number of parking spaces, for city tolls and consistent charging of parking are now clearly demanded by the many groups that support the climate strikes in Bremen,
– be it that a growing number of associations and groups operating nationwide make themselves heard and demand a clear renunciation of the radical (almost) inaction from federal and state governments.

With this post, I would like to explain the term “parking space management” and explore its context in order to be able to be more linguistically uniform in our demands regarding such questions as “reclaiming public space” and indeed “parking” and to give them ever stronger impact.

What is parking space managementAn “official” definition of the term “parking space management” is given in the publication“Parkraumbewirtschaftung, Nutzen und Effekte”, (Ministry of Transport, Baden-Württemberg, 2016, p. 7):
“Parking space management” means the temporal and spatial influencing of parking space use by means of structural, organisational and traffic law measures. The latter are summarised under the term “parking space management”.

Possible instruments that can be used:
– Time of the parking process (day of the week, time of day),
– Duration (limited/unlimited),
– free or chargeable use,
– Dedication of use for certain vehicles (e.g. cars, vans) or for certain owners (e.g. residents, people with disabilities).
A corresponding signposting indicates the respective regulation. For example, municipalities generate a higher turnover rate in areas with very high parking pressure – and correspondingly more free parking spaces”.

This brochure also uses the system of terms commonly used today in the field of parking management, which the Berlin Senate Administration first published in 2004 (see, among others, the study by agora Verkehrswende “Parkraummanagement lohnt sich”, U. Bauer, M. Hertel, R. Sedlak, Berlin, February 2019):

What is fee-based car parking?
Fee-based car parking comprises the temporal and spatial influencing of parking space use by means of making parking chargeable. The above source (“Parkraumbewirtschaftung – Nutzen und Effekte”, a.a.O., S. 7, loc. cit., p. 7) explains this:
“Fee-based car parking” refers exclusively to the parking space offered on the public traffic network, and represents a building block within the overarching thematic area of “Parking space management”.

The Federal Environment Agency has summarised its findings regarding “parking space management” and regarding “fee-based car parking” (“Rechtliche Hemmnisse für eine nachhaltige Mobilität- …”, Dessau, July 2019, p. 49 f.) in the following way:

“Parking space management is a central tool for municipalities (…). Parking space management can be used to address various objectives:
– Improving the availability of parking space for residents of densely populated inner city residential areas,
– Reduction of parking search traffic,
– Improving road safety,
– Reduction of car traffic
– Shift to public transport, bike and foot
– in addition, the generation of revenues to finance alternative mobility services (…).
In addition, a functioning fee-based parking  system can make traffic areas available for other modes of transport such as public transport, cycling or walking, enable their expansion and use inner-city space for purposes other than traffic. Favourable framework conditions for fee-based parking are therefore essential for a municipal mobility policy oriented towards sustainability objectives.
(…) The general rules for stopping and parking and, in particular, the instruments for monitoring parking mistakes and misbehaviour as well as for the actual enforcement of bans therefore also have a significance for effectiveness that should not be underestimated. Obstacles to an effective system of fee-based parking include the very low warning fines for illegal parking and the low monitoring density.”

And in the next episode: “Residential parking”
Outlook: In a subsequent post I will go into more detail on residential parking, as its expansion, too, is explicitly mentioned in the objectives of the Bremen government for the current term and as the topic is currently being urgently addressed by the advisory councils of those Bremen districts close to the city centre.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Parkraummanagement / Parkraumbewirtschaftung – Begriffsklärung

In den Zielsetzungen der kürzlich gewählten Bremer Landesregierung stehen die Regulierung und die Begrenzung des Parkens an vorderer Stelle. Damit fanden nun endlich strategische Maßnahmen aus dem Bremer Verkehrsentwicklungsplan 2025 Eingang in den operativen Zielkatalog unserer Landesregierung.

Zudem ruft die Zivilgesellschaft zunehmend deutlicher nach einer entschiedenen Verkehrswende. So akzeptiert sie u.a. nicht mehr die in vielen städtischen Quartieren unhaltbare Situation durch illegal abgestellte Autos und ebensowenig die klimaschädlichen “Erfolge” einer gegen jede Gemeinwohlvernunft für den Kauf von Groß-PKWs werbenden Automobilbranche:

  • sei es, dass sich auf lokaler Ebene das Bremer Verkehrswende-Bündnis die Forderungen nach flächendeckender Parkraumbewirtschaftung als wesentlichen Hebel für das „weg vom Auto – hin zum Umweltverbund und einer lebenswerten Stadt“ zu eigen gemacht hat,
  • sei es, dass die Forderungen nach schrittweiser Reduzierung der Anzahl der Parkplätze, nach City-Maut und konsequenter Bewirtschaftung nun auch unüberhörbar deutlich von den vielen Gruppierungen, die die Klimastreiks in Bremen tragen, insgesamt eingefordert wird,
  • sei es, dass eine wachsende Zahl bundesweit agierender Verbände und Gruppierungen sich deutlich Gehör verschafft und von Bundes- und Landesregierungen eine klare Abkehr von deren radikalem (Fast)-Nichtstun fordern.

Mit diesem Post möchte ich den Begriff “Parkraummanagement” erläutern und einige Zusammenhänge beitragen, um in unseren Forderungen in den Aktionsfeldern  “Rückgewinnung des öffentlichen Raumes” und “Parken” auch sprachlich einheitlicher sein zu können und ihnen weitere Durchschlagskraft zu verleihen.

Was ist Parkraummanagement?

Eine „offizielle“ Definition des Begriffes „Parkraummanagement“ wird u.a. in der Veröffentlichung „Parkraumbewirtschaftung, Nutzen und Effekte”, (Ministerium für Verkehr, Baden-Württemberg, 2016, S. 7) gegeben:

„Unter „Parkraummanagement“ versteht man die zeitliche und räumliche Beeinflussung der Parkraumnutzung und zwar mittels baulicher, organisatorischer und verkehrsrechtlicher Maßnahmen. Letztere werden unter dem Begriff der „Parkraumbewirtschaftung“ (siehe weiter unten) zusammengefasst.

Die möglichen Stellschrauben sind dabei:

  • Zeitpunkt des Parkvorganges (Wochentag, Tageszeit),
  • Dauer (beschränkt/ unbeschränkt),
  • kostenfreie oder kostenpflichtige Nutzung,
  • Nutzungswidmung für bestimmte Fahrzeuge (zum Beispiel PKW, Lieferwagen) oder für bestimmte Halter (z.B. Anwohner, Menschen mit Behinderung).

Eine entsprechende Beschilderung zeigt die jeweilige Regelung an. So generieren Kommunen beispielsweise in Gebieten mit sehr hohem Parkdruck einen höheren Umschlagsgrad – und entsprechend mehr freie Parkstände.“

Diese Broschüre nutzt ebenfalls die heute übliche Systematik von Begriffen im Feld des Parkraummanagements, die die Senatsverwaltung Berlin bereits im Jahre 2004 erstmals veröffentlicht hat (siehe u.a. die Studie von agora Verkehrswende „Parkraummanagement lohnt sich“, U. Bauer, M. Hertel, R. Sedlak,  Berlin, Februar 2019:

 Was ist Parkraumbewirtschaftung?

Parkraumbewirtschaftung umfasst die zeitliche und räumliche Beeinflussung der Parkraumnutzung und zwar mittels verkehrsrechtlicher Maßnahmen. Dazu führt die o.g. Quelle (Parkraumbewirtschaftung – Nutzen und Effekte, a.a.O., S. 7) aus:

„Parkraumbewirtschaftung“ bezieht sich ausschließlich auf das Parkstandangebot auf öffentlichen Verkehrsflächen und stellt einen Baustein innerhalb des übergeordneten Themenbereichs „Parkraummanagement“ dar.“

Das Umweltbundesamt stellt zusammenfassend zu Parkraummanagement und Parkraumbewirtschaftung fest (“Rechtliche Hemmnisse für eine nachhaltige Mobilität- …”, Dessau, Juli 2019, S. 49 f.):

Parkraummanagement ist eine zentrale Stellschraube für Kommunen, (…). Mit dem Parkraummanagement können verschiedene Ziele adressiert werden:

  • Verbesserung der Parkraumverfügbarkeit für Bewohner dicht besiedelter inner- städtischer Wohngebiete,
  • Reduzierung von Parksuchverkehren,
  • Verbesserung der Verkehrssicherheit, 
  • Reduktion des Pkw-Verkehrs und
  • Verlagerung zum ÖPNV, Rad und Fuß und im besten Fall
  • zusätzlich die Generierung von Einnahmen zur Finanzierung von alternativen Mobilitätsangeboten (…).

Zusätzlich kann eine funktionierende Parkraumbewirtschaftung Verkehrsflächen für andere Verkehrsarten wie den ÖPNV oder den Rad- und Fußverkehr verfügbar machen, deren Erweiterung ermöglichen und innerstädtischem Raum zu anderen als verkehrlichen Zwecken nutzen. Günstige Rahmenbedingungen für die Parkraumbewirtschaftung sind daher für eine an Nachhaltigkeitszielen orientierte kommunale Mobilitätspolitik essentiell.

(…) Eine nicht zu unterschätzende Bedeutung für die Wirksamkeit haben damit auch die allgemeinen Regeln für das Halten und Parken und hierbei insbesondere die Instrumente zur Überwachung des Falschparkens und des Falschhaltens sowie zur tatsächlichen Durchsetzung der Verbote. Hemmnisse für ein wirksames System der Parkraumbewirtschaftung sind unter anderem die sehr niedrigen Verwarnungsgelder beim Falschparken sowie die niedrige Überwachungsdichte.

Und in der nächsten Folge: “Bewohnerparken”

Ausblick: In einem folgenden Post werde ich näher auf das Bewohnerparken eingehen, da dessen Ausbau in den Zielsetzungen der Bremer Regierung explizit genannt ist und in den Beiräten der innenstadtnahen bremischen Quartiere zur Zeit mit Dringlichkeit behandelt wird.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.