Ralph Saxe – Transport Revolution In 2019?


Ralph Saxe

With Bremen’s state election looming next year, and the Greens riding high in the polls, there is a very real chance that they will form a strengthened half of any new coalition. With the two old parties declining in popularity, there is even the prospect of a Green-led government. With this in mind, we recently interviewed Ralph Saxe, transport spokesperson for the Bremen Greens, to see what they have in mind for the coming legislature. 

The Greens’ position on transport policy is summarised here (German text). But recently they came out with a call for more public money for cycling and walking (German text).

English subtitles available. Click the subtitles icon towards the bottom right of the screen.

The Greens are calling for a quadrupling of funding for cycling, to around € 26 per inhabitant per year from 2020. This compares modestly with the current spending on motor traffic, at more than €100 per inhabitant. Note: Copenhagen spent 35.6€ per inhabitant for years. There is also a call for more focus on walking, with the creation of a specific walking budget for the first time.

The Greens’ official press release  quotes Ralph Saxe:

“The transformation of Bremen to a cycling city must continue to progress so that even more people saddle up. At present, the financial resources are neither sufficient for the maintenance of already existing cycleways, nor for ambitious projects such as the planned Premium Cycle Route. That has to change with improved funding from 2020 onwards. In view of the immense expenditure on motor traffic, cycling and walking are miles away from genuine equal rights, even with a significant increase in funding. It is therefore also necessary to have consistent car parking management, in order to use the revenues to further improve public transport and the infrastructure for cycling and walking. In view of the worsening climate crisis, we must give the traffic revolution more momentum. The city benefits from the fact that more people cycle or walk: the noise pollution decreases, the air quality improves and the quality of life increases. “

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Ralph Saxe – Verkehrswende ab 2019?


Ralph Saxe

Nächstes Jahr wird in Bremen gewählt, und Bündnis90/Die Grünen haben vor dem Hintergrund der exzellenten Umfragewerte eine gute Chance, in einer möglichen Koalition eine bestimmendere Position einzunehmen. Sehen wir uns den bundesweiten Trend mit den rapide sinkenden Anteilen der so genannten Volksparteien an, so wird auch die Möglichkeit einer von den Grünen geführten Landesregierung vorstellbar.

Dies vor Augen haben wir Ralph Saxe vor unsere Kamera gebeten, den verkehrspolitischen Sprecher der Grünen in der Bremischen Bürgerschaft.

Kürzlich haben die Grünen grundsätzliche Forderungen zur Umverteilung der Finanzmittel für den Fuss- und Radverkehr vorgelegt. Sie fordern eine Vervierfachung  der öffentlichen

Mittel für den Radverkehr auf rund 26€ pro EinwohnerIn und Jahr. Zum Vergleich: Kopenhagen gibt seit Jahren 35,6€  pro EinwohnerIn aus. Aber auch mit 26€ lägen die eingesetzten Haushaltsmittel noch immer weit unter den Geldern, die jährlich in den Autoverkehr fließen, nämlich mehr als 100 € pro EinwohnerIn. Auch fordern die Grünen, endlich  und erstmalig einen eigenen Haushaltstitel für den Fußverkehr einzurichten.

Wörtlich sagt Ralph Saxe in der Grünen Presseerklärung:

„Der Umbau Bremens zur Fahrradstadt muss weiter voranschreiten, damit noch mehr Menschen umsatteln. Derzeit reichen die Finanzmittel weder für die Instandhaltung bereits vorhandener Radwege noch für ambitionierte Vorhaben wie die geplanten Radpremiumrouten. Das muss sich mit der besseren Finanzausstattung ab 2020 ändern. Angesichts der immensen Ausgaben für den Autoverkehr ist der Rad- und Fußverkehr selbst bei signifikanter Mittelerhöhung von echter Gleichberechtigung meilenweit entfernt. Nötig ist deshalb auch eine konsequente Parkraumbewirtschaftung, um mit den Einnahmen den ÖPNV und die Infrastruktur für Rad- und Fußverkehr weiter zu verbessern. Angesichts der sich zuspitzenden Klimakrise müssen wir der Verkehrswende mehr Schwung verleihen. Die Stadt profitiert davon, wenn noch mehr Menschen Rad fahren oder zu Fuß gehen: Die Lärmbelastung sinkt, die Luftqualität verbessert sich, die Lebensqualität steigt.“

Zusätzlich hier auch eine Zusammenfassung der Grünen Position zur Verkehrspolitik.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.