Category Archives: Vehicular Cycling

Parkallee in Bremen: Missing the Target

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait?


The “new” Parkallee, half in red, Foto: Beatrix Wupperman

Parkallee in Bremen is part of a planned Premium Route for cycling that runs from the university in the north to the city centre. For too long, this 500 metre section between Am Stern and the city’s main railway lines has dominated discussions and negotiations. How can cyclists can traverse this section safely and quickly? Continue reading Parkallee in Bremen: Missing the Target

Seeing Red

Bremen’s tortuous route to something resembling a Cycling City took another step forward this month with the re-surfacing of the oft-plagued cycle street Parkallee.

Regular readers of our blog will know that this semi-main artery for through traffic – it is one of the less-busy branches off the 30,000-vehicles-per-day Stern roundabout – has already been the subject of various traffic management experiments. In every case, proposals have involved the removal of existing cycleways on either side of the road, and their replacement with some form of on-road cycling. Each proposal has been dogged by conflicting demands. In an area with relatively high car ownership, local residents have been routinely double parking their vehicles on this dual carriageway street. Cyclists have been looking for more space than the ageing cycleways offer, not least as the street will be a key stretch of Bremen’s first Premium Cycle Route Continue reading Seeing Red

Protected Bike Lanes: Solving the safety conflict?

People who are involved with transport politics are continuously confronted with the issue of safety. Bike lanes are rejected, supposedly because of safety, while others demand them for exactly the same reasons. Cycling on the road is recommended by some as being safer, while others strongly reject such use for exactly the same reasons.

Demonstrating for cycling infrastructure: Danziger Straße, Berlin. Netzwerk Fahrradfreundliches Pankow, 5.7.2017,          (Foto: Changing Cities / Norbert Michalke)

In discussions around cycle transportation, so-called „objective safety“ is pitted against a subjective sense of safety and comfort. In the Netherlands “sustainable safety” is recommended, Copenhagen prioritises „subjective safety.“ And now there’s a new version, the “Protected Bike Lane.“ This starts sounding somewhat complicated, so we need to clarify: What is being discussed? Who is saying what about safety, and why?

Continue reading Protected Bike Lanes: Solving the safety conflict?

Women on bikes – There is a difference

 „The bicycle has done more for the emancipation of middle and upper class women then all the struggles of the womens’ movement“. So wrote the Austrian authoress and feminist Rosa Mayreder (1858-1938).


Female English Racing Cyclists – Englische Radrennfahrerinnen 1

The first female cyclists came from wealthy families, taking the opportunity to get away from their restrictive circumstances. In Bremen there were Ricarda Huch and Aline von Kapff, who fought for their freedom from the saddle of their bicycles more than 100 years ago. Continue reading Women on bikes – There is a difference

Parking Space to Cycle Space? Not In Bremen

With the recent publication of proposals for comprehensive parking management by Bremen’s Transport Transition coalition, there’s been considerable discussion in the city’s media about the problem of illegal parking. Little has been said about its direct impact on cycling in Bremen, despite the publication’s central point that proper management of car parking is a means to releasing road space for walking and cycling. Continue reading Parking Space to Cycle Space? Not In Bremen

Wazzup On Parkallee?


Fahrradstraße Parkallee – parkende Autos, Mischverkehr, Chaos

For some time now – from near and afar – I’ve been rubbernecking the ongoing saga of Parkallee – and the council’s to-ing and fro-ing, politicians and officers alike. What to do? What’s going on? At one point there is a cycleway, then there isn’t, now you see it, now you don’t, then no-one quite knows what’s really happening. The thing for me is this: where is the decision-making clarity? Where is the solid foundation to traffic – and in particular cycle – policy? Continue reading Wazzup On Parkallee?

Cycle Streets That Inspire?

Albrechtstraße: An old and comfy cycle street in Bremen

Bremen released a comprehensive transport plan in 2014: Verkehrsentwicklungsplan 2025. One of many aims is to improve cycling and cycling infrastructure. In Germany  “Verkehrswende”, i.e. a fundamental change of the transport world, is a big issue. Accordingly you would think the Bremen transport plan, VEP 2025, takes this concept seriously. So why  are cycle streets so feebly implemented? There are a number of theories. Here are 2 for starters.

Continue reading Cycle Streets That Inspire?

Bremen Cycle Streets: Humboldtstraße – A Role Model?

Humboldtstraße
Humboldtstraße

Bremen’s politicians are extremely proud of the new design of Humboldtstraße as a Cycle Street. It is hailed by our representatives and their cycling advisers as a great solution for a range of problems. However, the new design didn’t arise because all the experts thought Humboldtstraße to be the ideal space for a Cycle Street. Rather, the idea was developed because Hansewasser, Bremen’s water company, planned to upgrade the sewer system under the road.
Continue reading Bremen Cycle Streets: Humboldtstraße – A Role Model?

Cycle Streets: Do content and label match?

Cycle Streets in Bremen: Purpose and Reality

Fahrradstraßen – Cycle Streets – are seen, alongside cycle lanes, cycle tracks, protective strips and more, as a tool to promote cycling. The basic concept – according to Germany’s road traffic regulations – is a road without motor traffic:
Continue reading Cycle Streets: Do content and label match?

Scharnhorststraße Cycle Street Plans – Who Benefits?

scharnhorststrasse
Scharnhorststrasse

Last month, on 24th November, the Office for Road Traffic (ASV) made public its plans for the conversion of Scharnhorststraße to a Cycle Street. The project, part of the city’s  Traffic Development Plan (VEP) 2025, was presented to the meeting of the Advisory Council Schwachhausen on 24.11.2016.

Continue reading Scharnhorststraße Cycle Street Plans – Who Benefits?

Archiv der Kategorie: Vehicular Cycling

Parkallee in Bremen: Ein Schuss in den Ofen

Was lange währt, wird endlich gut?

Die Parkallee in Bremen ist Teil einer geplanten Premiumroute für den Radverkehr, die von der Universität im Norden bis zur Innenstadt führt.


Die “neue” Parkallee, halb in Rot, Foto: Beatrix Wupperman

Viel zu lange wurde darüber diskutiert und verhandelt, wie ein ca. 500 Meter langes Teilstück zwischen „Am Stern“ und Bahnlinie so zu gestalten ist, dass Radfahrer*innen hier sicher und zügig vorankommen. Nun präsentiert die Stadt stolz ihre rotfarbene Lösung. Doch bringt uns das voran? Parkallee in Bremen: Ein Schuss in den Ofen weiterlesen

Premiumroute: Fahrradstraße – zur Umgestaltung der Parkallee in Bremen

In diesem Monat hat Bremen einen weiteren Schritt hin zu einer Stadt gemacht, die an eine Fahrradstadt erinnert: Die schon so oft kritisierte „Fahrradstraße“ Parkallee wurde umgestaltet und ist eingefärbt worden.

Wer unseren Blog regelmäßig liest, weiß, dass diese Straße schon mehrere verkehrspolitische Experimente durchlitten hat. Sie mündet in den Kreisverkehr „Der Stern“, über den täglich bis zu 30.000 Kfz rollen. Jedes dieser Experimente hatte aber zum Inhalt, die Radwege auf beiden Seiten der Straße zu entfernen. Aber jeder Vorschlag stand unter heftiger Kritik von diversen Interessengruppen. In einem Stadtviertel mit einem hohen Anteil an AutobesitzerInnen, haben die BewohnerInnen seit langem immer wieder in zweiter Reihe geparkt – die Parkallee hat vier Fahrspuren. Premiumroute: Fahrradstraße – zur Umgestaltung der Parkallee in Bremen weiterlesen

Habemus “Protected Bike Lanes”: Ein Friedensangebot?!

Wer sich um Verkehrspolitik kümmert, wird zwangsläufig immer wieder mit dem Thema Sicherheit konfrontiert. Mit Sicherheitsargumenten werden Radwege abgelehnt, aus genau dem Grund werden sie gefordert. Fahren im Mischverkehr wird von Einigen aus Sicherheitsgründen empfohlen und von Anderen vehement abgelehnt.


Demonstration für einen Radweg an der Danziger Strasse in Berlin. Veranstalter: Netzwerk Fahrradfreundliches Pankow, 5.7.2017  (Foto: Changing Cities / Norbert Michalke)

Beim Fahrradfahren geht es um sogenannte objektive Sicherheit versus subjektivem Komfortgefühl, in den Niederlanden wird eine „nachhaltige Sicherheit“ empfohlen, Kopenhagen setzt vorrangig auf „subjektive Sicherheit“. Und jetzt kommt auch noch der/die/das „Protected Bike Lane“(zu Deutsch: Geschützte Radfahrstreifen) als neue Variante. All dies ist schon ziemlich verwirrend und bedarf der dringenden Klärung.

Worum geht es hier eigentlich? Wer sagt was und warum?

Habemus “Protected Bike Lanes”: Ein Friedensangebot?! weiterlesen

Männer und Frauen – Der kleine Unterschied beim Radfahren

„Das Bicycle hat zur Emanzipation der Frauen aus den höheren Gesellschaftsschichten mehr beigetragen als alle Bestrebungen der Frauenbewegung zusammengenommen,“ schrieb die österreichische Schriftstellerin und Frauenrechtlerin Rosa Mayreder (1858 – 1938).

Englische Radrennfahrerinnen 1

Die ersten Radfahrerinnen stammten aus reichen Familien und nutzten die Möglichkeiten den einschränkenden Sitten und Gebräuchen zu entfliehen. Es war eine neue Freiheit, die den Frauen durch das Rad möglich war. In Bremen waren es Ricarda Huch und Aline von Kapff, die sich vor weit über 100 Jahren mit ihrem Fahrrad ihre Freiheit eroberten.

Männer und Frauen – Der kleine Unterschied beim Radfahren weiterlesen

Fahrrad Statt Auto? Aber Nicht In Bremen!

Seitdem das Bündnis für Verkehrswende seine Vorschläge zur umfassenden Parkraumbewirtschaftung präsentiert hat, ist auch die lokale Presse in das Thema eingestiegen. Sie konzentriert sich allerdings nur auf das illegale Parken in Bremen. Aber dass Parkraumbewirtschaftung wie auch das Vorgehen gegen illegales Parken das Fahrradfahren ganz direkt fördert – diese Erkenntnis scheint noch nicht in das politische und journalistische Allgemeinwissen übergegangen zu sein. Und das obwohl in dem Zusammenhang immer wieder hervorgehoben wird, wieviel Platz für Fuß und Rad durch eine konsequente Bewirtschaftung und Überwachung des Parkraumes geschaffen werden könnte.

Fahrrad Statt Auto? Aber Nicht In Bremen! weiterlesen

Parkallee – Alles Klar Oder Was?


Fahrradstraße Parkallee – parkende Autos, Mischverkehr, Chaos

Ich habe das beobachtet – teilweise aus nächster Nähe, teilweise aus der Ferne: das leidige Hin-und-Her der Politik und Verwaltung (P&V) in der Parkallee. Was machen? Was tun? Wir haben einen Radweg, dann nicht, dann wieder doch, und nun weiß es keiner so genau gar nicht mehr. Was mich an der Sache so nachdenklich stimmt, ist die Unklarheit der Entscheidungsfindung. Wo ist die klare Linie? Parkallee – Alles Klar Oder Was? weiterlesen

Wie will ich meine Fahrradstraße haben?

Albrechtstraße in Bremen. Eine angenehme Fahrradstraße aus den alten Tagen.

Verkehrswende mit einer Politik des schlanken Fußes?

Unsere Vorschläge zur Güte

Seit 2014 gibt es den Bremischen Verkehrsentwicklungsplan 2025, in dem Zielfelder und Unterziele definiert sind: Es sollen der Fahrradverkehr gefördert und die Infrastruktur für den Fahrradverkehr verbessert werden. Und trotzdem werden Fahrradstraßen ausgewiesen, die diesen Namen nicht wirklich verdienen, es sind Fahrradstraßen „light“.

Warum bekommen wir kaum echte Fahrradstraßen? Es gibt zwei mögliche Erklärungen:

Wie will ich meine Fahrradstraße haben? weiterlesen

Fahrradstraßen in Bremen: Paradebeispiel Humboldtstraße

Humboldtstraße
Humboldtstraße

Ganz besonders stolz ist die Bremer Politik auf die Umgestaltung der Humboldtstraße in eine Fahrradstraße. Der Umbau erfolgte übrigens nicht, weil die ExpertInnen diese Straße für die ideale Fahrradstraße hielten, sondern weil “Hansewasser” Kanalsanierungsarbeiten durchführen wollte. In der schon genannten neuen Broschüre auf Seite 148 ist jedoch gar nicht das Wohl der FahrradfahrerInnen das oberste Ziel sondern das der FußgängerInnen, es ging um mehr Raum für FußgängerInnen. Erst dann folgt im Text: Mehr Sicherheit für den Radverkehr.
Fahrradstraßen in Bremen: Paradebeispiel Humboldtstraße weiterlesen

Fahrradstraßen: Ist drin, was drauf steht?

Was sind eigentlich Fahrradstraßen?

Fahrradstraßen sind neben Radwegen, Radfahrstreifen, Schutzstreifen und vielen mehr nur ein Instrument zur Förderung des Radverkehrs. Das Grundkonzept –  laut Straßenverkehrsordnung –  ist eine Straße ohne Kfz-Verkehr (Ausführungen zu Zeichen 244.1):
Fahrradstraßen: Ist drin, was drauf steht? weiterlesen

Fahrradstraße Scharnhorststraße – eine Verschlechterung für den Radverkehr

scharnhorststrasse
Scharnhorststrasse

Das Projekt „Einrichtung einer Fahrradstraße in der Scharnhorststraße“ aus dem Verkehrsentwicklungsplan (VEP) 2025 geht in die Planung und wurde vom Amt für Straßenverkehr (ASV) auf der Sitzung des Beirats Schwachhausen am 24.11.2016 vorgestellt. Fahrradstraße Scharnhorststraße – eine Verschlechterung für den Radverkehr weiterlesen